sheilaskitchen

Ideas, recipes, menus for the busy family.

Coney Sauce December 3, 2012

Filed under: Main Dish (Beef) — TeamModine @ 7:34 pm
Tags: , ,

I got the original recipe from All Recipes, but I tweaked it to our taste. However, it still wasn’t quite right. I will tweak it again and when I do, I will update the recipe here. We had it over baked potatoes or rice. Next time I make it, we’ll have it over hot dogs.

Here’s what I did for tonight’s version:

Brown 2# ground beef, 1/2 cup finely diced onion, and 1 small green pepper finely diced. Drain and add to a slow cooker.

Then add the following to the slow cooker:

2 cups ketchup

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (I will use less next time)

1/4 cup mustard (and maybe a little less of this, too)

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp pepper

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/4 cup brown sugar (I added this after I tasted it and it was very acidic)

Cook in the slow cooker for 2 -3 hours on low.

 

Leave a Reply

