sheilaskitchen

Ideas, recipes, menus for the busy family.

Philly Cream Sauce vs Making Your Own March 17, 2011

 I’ve seen the ads for the new Philly Cream sauces. It sounds like a great product and super easy. So I picked one up the other day. I had a coupon that made it $1.25. Figured it was worth it to give it a try. One catch, though, my oldest daughter doesn’t eat dairy. Now what?

Why not make my own?

I had other plans for tonight’s dinner, but I forgot to thaw the chicken. That made tonight’s dinner one of those throw together evenings.

I cooked linguine to go with the homemade because that is Caitlin’s pasta of choice. I opened the Philly & sampled. It had quite a bit of kick to it. I went with the Chipotle rub to make hers. I added about 1/4 cup to 8 oz of soy cream cheese. They tasted about the same.

There were several recipes that came with the Philly cream sauce. I went with the pasta one. Thought it would be the best “canvas” to try it out. I had some leftover taco meat I added to Caitlin’s and followed their recipe. Once I added the soy cream cheese mixture to the meat & cooked pasta it thickened up quite a bit. I added a little soy milk and it made it “saucier.” When I sampled it, it still had some kick to it.

I used meatballs and penne for ours. I added the Philly to it and it was “saucier” to begin with. Think they have something else in it to make it do that. I was worried that it had the same spiciness that the soy one did because I had made it to be the same. I added some sour cream & mozzarella to it as well to help with it since the younger kids don’t like spicy.

Once it was all done, I think it turned out pretty similar. I will probably use less spice and add some soy sour cream the next time I make it and see how it does.

I don’t think I’ll buy the Philly sauce again. I can make my own with any of the rubs/seasonings I have with the Pampered Chef. Looking at the labels, making my own will also be a little healthier. In the long run it will also be more economical. I usually get bricks of regular cream cheese for less than a dollar plus some of the seasoning.

I think it’s a great idea that I plan to tweak to make it work for me and use as a fill in dinner for night’s like tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

