sheilaskitchen

Ideas, recipes, menus for the busy family.

Hearty Sausage Stew April 20, 2010

Filed under: One Pot Meal — TeamModine @ 6:52 pm

1/2 # fresh kielbasa or polish sausage links, cut into 1/2 in slices

1/2 # Italian sausage links, cut into 1/2 in slices

1 med onion, chopped

1 med green pepper, chopped

3 1/2 c beef broth

1 can (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 cup apple juice

1 TBSP minced fresh parsley

1 garlic clove, minced

1/4 tsp dried basil

1/4 tsp oregano

4 oz uncooked spiral pasta

In a large saucepan, cook sausages over medium heat until no longer pink. Remove with a slotted spoon; drain, reserving 2 TBSP drippings.

In the drippings, saute onion and pepper until crisp-tender. Stir in the broth, tomatoes, apple juice, parsley, garlic, basil, oregano and sausages. Bring to a boil; add pasta. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 10-15 min or until pasta is tender.

4 servings

(The girls each had 2nds, I only had 1 bowl and there was lots left, so I think more than 4 servings)

How I tweaked it because I somehow didn’t have all the ingredients:

I used a full pound of Italian sausage. I didn’t have a green pepper, so I used a cup and a half of frozen corn. I thawed it in the microwave before I added it to the onions. I used 4 cups of beef broth and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce since I didn’t have the diced tomatoes. I didn’t have dried basil, so I substituted 1/2 tsp of Pampered Chef Italian seasoning for the 1/4 tsp each of basil and oregano.

It was really good!

Tools I used:

Utility knife (forged cutlery)

Chef’s knife (Color coated)

Bar board

Food chopper (love it for chopping onions)

Bamboo spoon for sauteing the sausage and then the onions

Adjustable measuring spoon

Italian Seasoning

Small batter bowl, I made the beef stock in it with the beef cubes. Brenna thought this was great fun to put those cubes in and watch them dissolve.

 

Leave a Reply

